X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Should warfighters wear blackwatch?

My question before the rabble is though I'm not nor never been a member of 3rd Battalion, Royal Regiment of Scotland (3 Scots), I was a soldier (U.S. Army) and consider their kilt a excellent one for all branches to wear. am I alone in this school of thought?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Many consider the Black Watch tartan to be universal, but not all do. Some would say that you should have served as part of the unit to wear the tartan, but not all do.

Since you were in the US Army, you could always get a kilt in the US Army tartan.
    We're fools whether we dance or not, so we might as well dance. - Japanese Proverb

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Black Watch is often considered as a "universal tartan" and worn by those without a clan affiliation, regardless of prior or current military service. It's also associated with the Grant, Munro, and Campbell clans.

Cordially,

David

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by davedove View Post
    Many consider the Black Watch tartan to be universal, but not all do. Some would say that you should have served as part of the unit to wear the tartan, but not all do.

Since you were in the US Army, you could always get a kilt in the US Army tartan.
    1st one I owned ith:
    check me profile

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a Black Watch tartan kilt because it has a military association. At the time I got it I was in the Marines and there were no US service tartans available as there are now. I was also reenacting with two Highland regiments (F&I War and Rev War) and they both wore the Black Watch.