Traquair House Shakespeare Festival

Dating back to 1107, Traquair was originally a hunting lodge for the kings and queens of Scotland. Later a refuge for Catholic priests in times of terror the Stuarts of Traquair supported Mary Queen of Scots and the Jacobite cause without counting the cost.
Today, Traquair is a unique piece of living history welcoming visitors from all over the world, providing a magical and romantic setting for weddings, hosting a wide range of summer events and a superb venue for corporate groups. You can even stay here in the luxurious Bed & Breakfast accommodation.
Visitors are invited to enjoy the house, extensive grounds, maze, craft workshops, 1745 Cottage Restaurant and the famous Traquair House Brewery housed in the eighteenth century wing and producing the world famous Traquair House Ales.

On Saturday we visited Traquair House where they were holding a Shakespeare Festival over the weekend.

The old driveway leading to the Bear Gates.
When the Fifth Earl of Traquair closed the Bear Gates one late autumn day in 1745 after wishing his guest, Prince Charles Edward Stuart, a safe journey, he promised that they would not be opened until the Stuarts were restored to the throne. The gates have remained closed ever since.

Majestic Realm

Red footed falcon


Ladies on Horseback

Mounted Knights

Sir Prize
More to follow shortly
Last edited by cessna152towser; 27th May 12 at 02:49 PM.
Regional Director for Scotland for Clan Cunningham International, and a Scottish Armiger.
Bookmarks