X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

First Time Kilted at Work Today.....Crazy Time....

I'm a licensed professional counselor working at an outpatient mental health agency in the canyonlands of Arizona (Redneck, Navajo, Mormon country).

I know kilts are not a costume. Just figured today would be a good day to wear the kilt and blend in with other Halloween costumes. Last year the CEO came in hillbilly drag...dress, wig, etc.

This year no one came in costume. Two ladies wore orange blouses, one painted her fingernails black.

I wore my UK tan original with SportKilt's navy hose, black wingtips and a navy ribbed sweater. Wore the AK wide black belt too, but the sweater covered it.

First encounter, the Navajo who runs our detox center called my kilt a skirt. Told him Navajo Warriors wore deerskin kilts. The CEO came along and said no they didn't...the Navajo guy said yes they did.

CEO kept looking at the kilt - he's seen me kilted before at the hardware store on a weekend. He finally decided to tell me that I was just wearing the kilt to show off.

The receptionist asked me what I was wearing under the kilt. Told her if she was wearing a skirt and I asked her the same question I'd be both fired and arrested...she thought that one over and agreed. (for the record I wore a pair of boxer shorts...why take risks the first day kilted at work)

A lady admin clerk asked if the side pockets were where I kept my nylons.

I got "The Look" from many people who never commented, including our young developmentally disabled janitors.

A young Mormon male therapist gave thumbs up and compliments.